top of page
  • terry

Body Empowerment through Natural Birth Control

Updated: Mar 1, 2021

Why wouldn't you want to know your body better than anyone else?



I was only 28 or so when I found out there was an alternative to birth control. I was at an engaged couples retreat when I first learned about this. Of course, the topic started off with the bad things about birth control, but it lead to a solution. I remember, my then, fiancé and I were just thinking, "Wow! I don't want that going inside of you/me" after hearing about how some birth control had carcinogen. Prior to this, I had minimal interest in birth control and intuitively I thought something doesn't seem right about it. I left that retreat full of curiosity about the alternative birth control.


I began my journey in researching both methods. I was provided 3 natural family planning (NFP) methods (aka fertility awareness methods or FAM) to choose from and ultimately narrowed it down to the Creighton Model. We then went to an initial info session on the Creighton Model. The instructor was very knowledgeable and all the information was informative. At the end, it was basically up to us if we wanted to continue with the method and we signed up to meet with the instructor again for a more in depth discussion and instructions on the use. This decision changed it all for me.



I remember leaving the first 2:1 private session with the instructor and later telling, my now, husband, "I feel empowered!" There was a lot to learn and my interest in it grew larger than ever. So what made this a turning point in my life?


With the Creighton Model, you learn about your cervical mucus, your menses' length, your pre and post peak phase.....YOUR cycle. I remember in the beginning as an adolescent, I would record on a calendar or planner when my period started and I would always try to expect my next one to come around the same time and pre-mark for the next month and so forth. It was never on the day I marked on the calendar. As time went on, I started using apps in the similar manner. The apps provided extra features like making note if I had a chocolate craving that day (which by the way I love chocolate) or if I had a breakout (which by the way I was already having issues with). Looking back, I had no idea what I was really even "charting." I just wanted to know when I would get my next period and not have an "oops" in public.


I learned MY cycle.


The apps weren't going to teach me that. It was too generic and I'm not generic nor are you. Honestly, the apps were much more complicated and questionable. Why was it telling me every time that my period was 7 days long? Why was it always showing that was I was fertile on the 10th day? Unfortunately, the same could be said with the information I was provided from my doctor who provided a generic cycle time, which was not accurate for my cycle.

As I practiced charting, I learned there was significance to the type of cervical mucus that is observed and you don't need to have a medical degree to understand it. I knew exactly what to look for to avoid and achieve pregnancy. Eventually, I was able to better expect when my next period would come as well.

I owned MY cycle.


The biggest question I had when I felt this empowerment was, "Why hadn't I learn this sooner?!" This to me was a flaw in women's health. There is so much emphasis and exposure to hormonal birth control and not enough on understanding one's cycle. It has then been a topic of interest to me. I love my cycle. I love my body. I love being a woman. I love ME.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page